The Local Advisory Group was established to provide local input and assist with the Dunedin hospital project.

It comprises councillors and officials from the Dunedin City Council and the Otago Regional Council, as well as senior representation from Ngāi Tahu and the New Zealand Transport Agency.

Advice from the Local Advisory Group will feed directly into the Southern Partnership Group.

The Local Advisory Group will address non-health issues including transport, energy provision, economic development opportunities, any issues affecting Māori, and training and housing the workforce.

The local leaders on the Local Advisory Group are:

  • Aaron Hawkins (Mayor of Dunedin)
  • Cr David Benson-Pope (Councillor, Dunedin City Council)
  • Dr Sue Bidrose (Chief Executive, Dunedin City Council)
  • Jim Harland (Director of Regional Relationships South Island, NZTA)
  • Donna Matahaere (Chair, Otakou Runanga)
  • Cr Michael Deaker (Councillor, Otago Regional Council)
  • Sarah Gardiner (CE, Otago Regional Council).

Members of the Southern Partnership Group, the Ministry of Health and Southern District Health Board are also invited to attend.